Willmar Logo

Mayor & City Council

The Mayor and City Council are the legislative and policy making body for the City of Willmar government.  The Mayor is responsible for chairing Council meetings and making various appointments.

The Mayor and eight City Council members are elected to alternating four-year terms.  The City of Willmar is divided into four wards.  Two Council members are elected to represent each ward.  Elections are held in November of even numbered years.

The City of Willmar has a Council-Administrator form of government.  The City Administrator is responsible for carrying out the directions of the Council majority.

2015 Budget

The Finance Department is responsible for helping prepare the annual budget.  The budget accounts for day-to-day operations as well as capital projects. 

Meeting Times

The City Council holds meetings on the first and third Mondays of each month at 7:00p. The Council Chambers is located in the back of Willmar Municipal Utilities, 700 Litchfield Ave SW, displayed at the right.